Lucky Girl

My first entry into SOS – Soap Opera Sunday.

“I’m the luckiest girl in the world,” I thought when he asked me to be his girlfriend.

He asked one day in writing, and I instantly responded with an emphatic, “Yes!” I truly was the luckiest girl in the world. All the other girls congratulated me on my accomplishment in attaining the crest of relationships. Him.

J had wavy blond locks and deep crisp blue eyes. His muscular arms wrapped around me and comforted me when I felt shy with him. I had never dated someone as handsome, as well-liked, and so secure. I felt so lucky.

We would talk endlessly on the phone about family, education, and dreams for the future. We would write to each other
about our feelings and family. J had my heart.

And then it happened.

We were at a social gathering with all of our closest friends. Music blared while we talked, joked, held hands. He put his arm around me.

Then the music slowed down. We went out to dance.

Dancing with J was a new experience. His arms were tight around me. And it happened.

My first kiss.

7th grade middle school dance.

What? You didn’t expect me to write about something serious did you? Though it is 100% true.

I hear he’s gay now.

9 Responses

  1. I was wondering since he asked you to be his girlfriend. I love it!

  2. That last line? Made me laugh so hard I snorted. Totally caught me off guard – you’re a hoot!

  3. I’m jealous you can remember back that far! I can’t remember what I had for lunch today!

  4. Hahahahahaha. Love it! Welcome to the SOS party! So glad you joined us!

    That last line totally. killed. me. What a bombshell to throw in at the end! Great story!

  5. What is a good kiss? An earlier SOS of mine was how my first french kiss was like kissing a vacum cleaner.

    Welcome to SOS!!

  6. Welcome to SOS! You’ve sure got the “tone” down! Wonderful snippet. Ah, those seventh grade days! And how sweet! Looking forward to next week!

  7. Ha! I never got the best date – or any date actually – in seventh grade. I’m a little jealous!

  8. LOL, you should have known when he wanted to talk about his feelings.

  9. Love that ending! Welcome to SOS!

Comments are closed.

