Why My House is a Mess

I LOVE a list. I love reading lists, I love keeping lists, I love ignoring lists. So, here’s my list for this week:

Top 5 Reasons Why My House is a Mess

1. I’m a Lazy Perfectionist. It says so in my info up to the left. See? That means, I want things to be perfect, but I can’t possibly get them perfect, so it doesn’t get done. It’s a self-diagnosed excuse condition. It’s also the first step into becoming a hoarder. I can TOTALLY get those people.

2. My foot hurts. I broke it on Christmas Eve last year, and it still hurts. I tell myself I have to elevate it as much as possible.

3. I have 2 toddlers. It’s going to get messy again in less than 30 minutes, so why clean it in the first place?

4. My mom lives 7 hours away, so it’s not like she’s going to drop in unexpectedly. Why is this an issue? Think of Martha Stewart without the crafting skills and farm, and you have my mother. Her house is always clean, even the baseboards. She cleans them with a broom, then vacuums the dust. I’ve seen it and had to do it as a kid. Traumatizing.

5. It doesn’t smell yet. Every once in a while I’ll get a whiff of something rotting in the sink or in the fridge, so then I’ll clean it out. Until then, it can wait. I have to see what’s happening on the internets and check my email.

What’s your excuse?

11 Responses

  1. My excuse?
    1) I’m tired
    2) Need to check my blog
    3) Might as well check my email
    4) Hmmm wonder what’s happening on OTHER blogs
    5) That makes me think of a post! Posting…
    6) Ooh! An email!
    7) Gotta pee
    8) Better check my blog again…

    It’s a sad sad state that our house is in.

  2. I’m lazy. I’m a procrastinator. I’m messy. I don’t mind clutter *that* much.

    Messy doesn’t necessarily mean dirty. At least that’s what I keep telling myself. Heheh.

    Then of course, I could go through banana’s list a few times over. 🙂

  3. Well we’re more about clutter than true mess because The Dr is a stellar housekeeper. But sounds like your mom is a lot like mine. I take great pleasure in irritating her through clutter. I alsomake sure the frig is covered in kid art when she visits (something she always denied me as a kid).

  4. I’m just so damn tired. I’m a single Mom, I work full time and when I’m home I just want to… no NEED to decompress. Add to that the fact that I have a 16 month old and that a 16 month old equates to one big, unending, glorious mess. I also have too many books and not enough book shelves. I have a 7 year old who doesn’t quite get yet how to clean up after herself but she’s a sweetheart when I do ask her to do something but she has that was of just standing in a room and looking around and not seeing what there is to “pick up”. Oh it’s endless really.

  5. This is a fabulous list. I’m with you 100%! And I love lists too. Perhaps I’ll still this one sometime 🙂

  6. 1. I’m six months pregnant and my back effing hurts!
    2. I have a two year old that loves to follow behind me pulling things out as I put them away.
    3. My hubby just got the brilliant idea to clean out the storage closets, so there’s boxes everywhere. And HE’S playing playstation instead of putting things back.
    4. Why clean when you can surf the internet? 😉

  7. hmmm…I do clean, like 75% of my day and my house is still a mess. I’m a little OCD about cleaning, so I can’t NOT do it. I wish I could leave dishes in the sink. I am getting better I have to say. Baby #3 did that to me. But, most of the time when things don’t get done it’s because I am either…

    A. Blogging
    B. Checking my Email
    C. Taking a Nap!! I love afternoon naps when I can get my 4 yr. old to actually sleep.

    Great post!

  8. We have more clutter than mess. But I blame my 2 year old for any messes.

  9. Yeah, I’m pretty much just lazy.
    I like your excuses, er, um reasons a whole lot better!

  10. Honey, you could have just put #3 and that would have been enough of a reason. I can’t even use that one.

    Maybe I should blame it on the dog. That might work.

  11. A lazy wife.

    Just kidding. She’s the only think keeping our househ9ild afloat.

Comments are closed.

