The Good, the Bad, and the Fugly: My take on the VMAs

Oh, MTV, why do you taunt me so? You hyped and hyped Britney. Why? So I would make sure to watch. You did your job. I’m watching. Now this is what I think:

Sarah Silverman – O.M.G. I about peed myself. She is the bravest chick since sliced bread. I love her comedy, not so much her TV show, but I love watching her KILL. And she SO delivered tonight.

Step-Daddy Justin Timberlake (see: earlier post) – He KILLS no matter what he does. But, MTV, why do you tease me with 1/2 a performance in a crowded hotel room? I want a PERFORMANCE! Lights, camera, action. Not a half-assed hotel-room party sing-along. WAIT – he closed the show. It was a good performance, could have done w/o Nelly Furtado.  I’m guessing she took the place of Britney.  I really hoped she was going to show up with him, but no.

Kanye West – I’m not a huge hip-hop girl, but I love his music. But, again, where is the PERFORMANCE? Just Mr. West walking around the Playboy suite with slutty girls and fratboy white guys trying to get camera face time. Despite the crappy hotel room setting, good job, Mr. West. I will be listening to your new album this Tuesday.

Chris Brown – Again, not a huge hip-hop girl, but watching him dance is somewhat of a religious experience. Highlight – he did a 30-second Michael Jackson homage dance to Billie Jean. I had CHILLS. Michael Jackson’s dancing is back in the form of Chris Brown.

Linkin Park – Finally a performance with lights, cameras, AND action! And no lip-synching!

Alicia Keys – Great performance, but if you’re going to perform George Michael songs, bring George Michael out! She did a fabulous performance, but add GM to it, I would have stood up and celebrated.

Miss Teen USA So. Carolina – At least she can make fun of herself. And such as.

Taco Bell Cheesy Beef Burrito Commercials – I’m a big-time Taco Bell fan (see: Fat Girl), and the first time I saw the commercial, I thought I might give it a try. Now, after seeing it 1001 times tonight, it looks more grody every time I see it.

Britney Britney Britney – I had such high hopes. Chriss Angel magic (where was it?), sneak peaks at the practice performance (looked just like the actual performance), partying late last night (we could tell). I really was hoping for a comeback. I think what we all got was a let down. Poor, poor BritBrit. Someone please get to Britney Spears and help her. From what it looked like from my recliner, you were holding your head so gently b/c the room was still spinning from your hangover.

To sum, I miss the times way back when I was in high school when I’d look forward to the VMAs for weeks, then stay up late watching. Every year, I hope for a shocker, and something to talk about.

All I want to do is find out what happened between Tommy Lee and Kid Rock. And kiss JT.

3 Responses

  1. I missed the show, but of course read about it during my Monday morning celebrity gossip website reading session. Sounds like Britney flopped big time.

    I totally want to see the fight between Kid Rock and Tommy Lee. I wonder if there’s coverage of that on YouTube somewhere. If I were a betting gal, I’d totally place my money on Tommy Lee to win that fight.

    Your daughters have the most gorgeous eyes in the whole entire world. Oh my God they are adorable.

  2. I cringe everytime I see that clip of the South Carolina beauty queen. That kind of thing makes me all squidgy and uncomfortable. That said, your “and such as” comment made me laugh outloud.

    And such as.

  3. I don’t find JT all that attractive but damn, does he ooze sex? And he can dance! Britney looked very uncomfortable. Her confidence is definitely gone. I just hope she gets some professional help soon. She’s been crying for it for some time now.

Comments are closed.

